I had wanted to post a list of favorite food books that I’ve read in the past year, so I browsed by Goodreads list to jog my memory. In doing so, I realized I’d only read two. Just two. I guess my reading for pleasure was eclipsed by my reading for class, and I only managed to squeeze in a few food books this year. That, and reading Townie took me at least three months (highly recommend though – very good, but long and dense!).

  • Spoon Fed: How Eight Cooks Saved My Life by Kim Severson – Kim Severson, former food writer for the New York Times, beautifully recalls the influence of food and cooking on her life, from childhood through her battle with alcoholism. This was easily one of the best books I read all year.
  • Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes by Elizabeth Bard – I’m a sucker for anything written about Paris and food, so this was a pleasure to read having recently been to Paris (and still dreaming about the food). The love story is cheesy, but that shouldn’t stop you from enjoying the drool-inducing recounting of French meals and recipes.

I also received a few food books for Christmas that I’m excited to dig into:

Happy reading!

