20111019-113509.jpg

This past weekend, I did one of my favorite things – apple picking! Instead of going to Tougas Farm, where we’ve gone in the past, we opted for a less-crowded and smaller venue – Clearview Farm in Sterling, MA. While the parking situation was less chaotic and the farm wasn’t overrun with small children (pluses), I was disappointed to see that Clearview only had 4 varieties of apples (whereas Tougas has 15-20). And, their apple cider donuts weren’t hot from the oven…although that did not stop me from eating several.

20111019-113526.jpg

In the past 5 days I have eaten: apple cider donuts, apple crisp, apple pie, AND apple dumplings. All delicious, but not exactly nutritious. While I’m certainly meeting my apple-a-day quota, I’m on the lookout for some healthy apple recipes.

Since it’s been such a warm Fall thus far, there are still a couple more weeks of apple picking – go to Mass Pick-Your-Own to find an orchard near you.

