crema1

Is it possible to fall in love with a sandwich? Because I have.

One day, I stumbled upon Crema Cafe in Harvard Square. I was cold and in need of coffee, and I pushed my way through the hoardes of Harvard students to the counter, where I bought a croissant and a coffee. The coffee hit the spot, but I wouldn’t say it was especially memorable. The croissant was…a croissant. Flaky, buttery, but I’m not really a connoisseur of croissants.

A few weeks later, I ended up at Crema Cafe again. This time, with friends in tow, we decided to have lunch. And then, it happened – I fell in love with a sandwich. The Crema Chicken Sandwich, to be exact – grilled chicken and avocado slathered with a “zesty” corn and cheese spread, on white bread, grilled/pressed. OH. MY. GOD. I cannot get enough of this sandwich. It has a “zesty” kick, with the melty cheese and creamy avocado, large chunks of chicken, and the crusty bread…it’s everything I could ever ask for in a sandwich.

Since that fateful day, I have been to Crema Cafe literally every time I’m in Harvard Square. I also tried the Spinach Artichoke Chicken Sandwich – chicken and a creamy spinach/artichoke spread on a crusty focaccia, grilled. Delicious, but not quite as awesome as the other one. Their other sandwiches, soups, and the like look mighty tasty too.

Ok, so the food is great. The atmosphere could use a little help. Well, it’s just that it’s always so crowded – with Harvard students (ick) and moms with babies (double ick). The lines are usually long, and the staff aren’t too friendly. Crowded can be a good thing, but not when I always have to hover for a table because some Harvardite is taking up an entire table for 4 with their laptop and books. Once the weather warms up, Crema will  have room for outdoor seating – much preferable to cozying up with screaming babies and laptops.

In short, I could eat that sandwich every day. But next time, I will probably take it to go.

Crema Cafe, 27 Brattle St., Cambridge, MA

