Mark Bittman promotes his new book, Food Matters: A Guide to Conscious Eating, on the Colbert Report. This is on my to-read list – I’m eager to see how Bittman’s practical, bare-bones approach to eating, cooking, and thinking about food compares to Michael Pollan’s more convoluted approach in The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Check out a review over at Serious Eats, which is giving away 5 copies of the book, as well as showcasing recipes from it all week long.

Favorite lines:
Bittman: “Serving a family of 4 a steak dinner would be the same as…driving around in your SUV for 3 hours with all the lights on at home…You don’t get both the steak and the driving around”
Colbert: “Well, I love to eat while I drive…what if I drove a Prius? Could I eat the steak at the same time?”
….
Bittman: “Well, factory-raised livestock…”
Colbert: “Delicious.”

(I can’t get the video embedded…sorry. If you click, it will take you to Comedy Central.)

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Mark Bittman
comedycentral.com
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor Mark Sanford
