In an effort to woo a visiting friend from NYC – the cupcake capitol – into choosing Boston for grad school, I suggested a cupcake tour of Boston. We started out strong at Davis Square’s Kickass Cupcakes, and headed towards Boston’s Sweet with a little stroll down Newbury St. in between. Well, that’s as far as we made it – walking + excessive amounts of sugar = impending sugar crash!

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the gorgeous cupcakes heaped with frosting. But, man, they were pretty – and looked almost too good to eat. Um, almost.

At Kickass, I chose the limited edition champagne bubbly cupcake – a vanilla cupcake with pink champagne frosting and a strawberry in the middle. The cupcake didn’t come with a description, and the flavors were somewhat hard to identify at first – it clicked when I was pleasantly surprised by a champagne-soaked strawberry hiding under 2 inches of frosting. I wouldn’t say the frosting tasted like champagne – but it was delicious, so I’m not complaining. My fellow cupcaketeurs chose a Mojito cupcake (rum-soaked cupcake with lime frosting) and…something else that obviously wasn’t very memorable. The mojito cupcake was a little too much…mojito for my taste.

vanilla?
vanilla?

Our next stop, Sweet, is a sparse shop on Mass. Ave – it’s only adornments were their signature pink and brown scroll wallpaper, and rows upon rows of delicate mini and full-size cupcakes in classic flavors. I appreciated Sweet’s devotion to the more traditional flavor combos – chocolate, vanilla, red velvet, carrot with cream cheese frosting – because sometimes, I don’t want a really crazy-flavored kickass cupcake. I want a perfect carrot cupcake (sans nuts! hallelujah!) with a glorious dollop of silky cream cheese frosting. Which is exactly what I got.

For now, I would pick Sweet over Kickass – although I recommend both. But, who knows – Boston’s best cupcake could still be out there waiting for me! Looks like I have more research to do.

Kickass Cupcakes
378 Highland Ave, Somerville, MA
(check out “The Adventures of a Kickass Cupcake” on their website!)

Sweet
49 Mass. Ave., Boston, MA

