I’d never been to the South End in Boston before this past Monday – as it turns out, this quaint neighborhood appears to have quite a few restaurant gems. My friend and I tried Picco’s, a wood-grilled pizza and homemade ice cream place. While the service was a bit slow, we didn’t mind waiting at our sidewalk table, enjoying the perfect weather for an outdoor meal. The Greek salad was a good starter, full of juicy olives and salty feta, which we followed with a signature pizza – the Red Pepper, Arugula, and Goat Cheese Pizza. It came heaped with arugula and Parmesan shavings, and was served over a can with a flame inside, to keep it hot – it really hit the spot. We were too full to try the ice cream – I guess we’ll just have to come back another time.

Sibling Rivalry and Aquitaine were close by – I’ll have to visit the South End more often!

Picco Restaurant, 513 Tremont St, Boston, MA
http://www.piccorestaurant.com

