Last night I stood staring blankly into our pantry, and then into our fridge. There are six of us sharing 1 regular-sized fridge, each of us buying our own groceries and yet…I had trouble finding anything I really wanted to eat. I spent $80 on groceries this week, and there was nothing to eat?!?! This just didn’t make sense…Except for the fact that I eat all 3 meals at home every day (I may go out once or twice on the weekend), and that I snack frequently, and that I like to have options, and that I want to eat good, healthy food. Ok, ok, so eating well and healthily gets expensive! I can’t help it if I’m picky about my Parmesan, or that I like my spinach to come in a box (it stays fresher twice as long!!), or that I buy a lot of soy products…And then there’s all the experimental baking I do…

My lovely, generous mother said to me just the other day, “You know, at some point you probably won’t be able to shop at Whole Foods anymore.” To which I said, “But as long as you continue to pay for my groceries, I will!”

…Now, if only my parents would pay for beer! 😉

