This recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies was in the June issue of Cooking Light. I always, always, always use the Tollhouse recipe, but I’m willing to try most anything when it comes to cookies. Though the recipe is only slightly different from the original – only half the butter, more brown sugar, and egg whites – the cookies definitely taste different. They’re chewy in the middle, a little crispy on the edges, and just a tad sweeter than usual.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla
2 large egg whites
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Combine butter and sugar, then add egg whites and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and chocolate chips. Bake @ 350 degrees for 10 minutes until golden brown on top.

Yum.

6/22 UPDATE: I made them again at home and they were PERFECT, if I do say so myself. Make them. Now. Do it. I’m ditching the Tollhouse recipe for good.

