med102963_0607_panzanella_l1It’s only June 8th and the New England heat is already killing me. I made some granola this morning – turning on the oven was a bad choice. The solution? Cooking that doesn’t actually require any cooking – I mean, no oven, grill, or stove.

One of my favorite summer dishes requires zero cooking – Panzanella is a tasty bread salad that gets better and better as the flavors mix.


Italian Panzanella
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper
2 cans cannellini beans (rinsed and drained)
3 cups large cubes of day-old, crusty bread
1 lb. plum tomatoes, cut into small pieces
1 English cucumber, also in small pieces
1/4 medium red onion, very thinly sliced
4 oz provolone cheese in one piece, diced (or you can throw in some shredded parmesan)
1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, torn

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the vinegar and oil, then season with salt and pepper.
2. Throw everything else in the bowl and toss together. Cover and let it hang out in the fridge for at least 2 hours – the flavor gets better and better. Stir in basil just before serving.
(Adapted from Everyday Food)

I wish I had thought to buy the ingredients for this when I was JUST at the grocery store. Damn!

