So R. and I made dinner last night – the boy can cook! Apparently he was serious this time when he said he wanted to learn how to cook…He bought Tyler Florence’s Tyler’s Ultimate: Brilliant Simple Food to Make Any Time and got to work. Florence’s recipes are easy, and always look and sound delicious, as I know from watching his show on FN. We made the Baked Rigatoni with Eggplant and Turkey Sausage, and the Simple Green Salad, with rave reviews!

R. also bought The Dorm Room Diet, which I had been eyeing for awhile. Not that I need nutrition advice OR a diet, but I was interested in the book because it was written by a college student. Sure, she happens to go to Princeton, and she had help from her doctor parents to write the book, but it has very practical advice from someone who has been through the college eating experience. Check it out!

