I’m going to try to catch up on my blogging this week before I leave for vacation, but no guarantees. The internet has been iffy lately, grr. And I’ve got packing, shopping, and errands to do before Saturday!

What’s cookin’ around here:
-Cleaned out cabinet and found space for all the cookbooks! Barely. I just can’t buy any more of them…

-Tried out the new Vietnamese restaurant on Green St. (where Coral Seafood used to be). In my professional opinion (ha!), not as good as Dalat, but I’d been willing to give it another chance. The food was “eh” and the service wasn’t too great. Had takeout from Dalat last night, and it was delish as usual.

-Ordered and recieved “Heat” by Bill Buford, but haven’t started it yet. At this point, I’m in the middle of at least 3 books. Starting a 4th will probably not help the situation.

-This month’s Food & Wine issue is all about “eco-epicureanism.” I know, you’re like “Huh, whatever that is…” but it’s actually really cool stuff- thinking about where your food comes from, and striving for our health and the planet’s in the way we cook and eat and enjoy food. Keep up the good work, Dana Cowin!

-“Vegan Diet Reverses Diabetes Symptoms, Study Finds” Having worked with diabetes patients all summer, I find it interesting whenever it comes up in the Health news. Researchers could be on to something here. From what little experience I have though, I can tell you that patients are not always willing to give up their eating habits, no matter how bad they may be.

-Also about Diabetes, “Strength Training Can Help Heavy Teens Reduce the Risk of Diabetes.” Not just strength training, but any exercise is good.

Ok, that’s all for now! If you’re in the Northeast, stay cool!

