SO we went to visit my relatives in North Carolina last weekend and, to be honest with you, I was a little nervous about the food. See, I’m a very picky eater, especially when it comes to meat. (If you can believe it, I used to be much pickier- just ask my mom! I’ve become slightly more adventurous in my old age of 20.) I try to be vegetarian, but I eat chicken pretty frequently at home and have been eating fish occasionally. However, I do not, have not, and will not ever eat red meat or pork. I don’t mean to offend all you meatatarians out there, but that’s the way it’s always been and that’s how it’s going to stay. Just a matter of personal taste.

Anyways, pretty much anywhere south of New England tends to have alot of BBQ and hence, a lot of meat. We went out to eat a few times over the weekend, all at BBQ places. My relatives live north of Charlotte on a lake, so there’s alot of seafood too. One of the places we went to, you can drive up to in your boat, park it at the dock, and get out for dinner- which is the only appeal of that particular restaurant. I thought the food was ‘eh’- the menu consisted of mostly meat, and everything else was fried 😛 Everyone else seemed to enjoy it though. We also went to a Lancaster’s (I believe it’s a chain?), which was actually pretty fun- the whole place is decorated with Nascar paraphenalia (NC is Nascar country). First, they bring you hushpuppies as an appetizer (whether you ask or not, but who wouldn’t?). I had never had hushpuppies before and if you’re a Northerner like me, you probably haven’t either. They are essentially fried cornbread balls- little golden nuggets of heaven! YUM. Crunchy on the outside, soft and sweet on the inside mmmmmmm.

That was my weekend, basically. We grilled some, people teased me about my veggie burger. We boated, jetskied, hung out and relaxed– it was great!

