Well, ok, we only went to NYC but it still involved alot of time on the road (including a 6 mile span of the Cross Bronx Expressway that took 2 HOURS to drive through, grrrrr1). We were in NYC for the day to see a taping of the Daily Show with Jon Stewart (awesome, by the way!) and then we went out for dinner afterwards. After driving down to the West Village, we parked and Celeste and I led the way to La Focaccia! We could have easily wandered around the Village and found something equally tasty, I’m sure, but our hearts and stomachs were set on Focaccia- our beloved, cozy Italian place. To make the evening even better, we scored a sweet table for four outside and enjoyed the best weather the Northeast has seen in weeks!

Celeste, my favorite dining partner (and I, hers), discovered this little jem of a restuarant last Spring-ish and it has been a favorite of mine ever since she took me there. Which is saying alot, since I’m not usually a huge fan of Italian (not really a pasta person). But their Gnocchi is to die for, and I always get it with Pesto, quite possibly my favorite thing ever. Creamy and delicious as always, delicate and garlicy and filling.
Mom had Grilled Herb-Crusted Salmon, since she is not a pasta person either.
A’s Spaghetti with Tomato Sauce.

BUT we had to save room for Magnolia Cupcakes! Conveniently located just around the corner from La Focaccia, we sprinted over before trekking back to the car. I had missed out on Magnolia last time I was in the city, so it was absolutely a must this time around. I’m not gonna lie, I bought 2 cupcakes for myself. Ate 1 in the car, and the other when we got home. And man, it was totally worth the sugar tummyache- I think I would drive to NYC just for those cupcakes. Ok, maybe not…but they are addictive and delicious. Of course, as luck would have it, I dropped the box when I got home. Frosting side down. Squished, but still good!

La Focaccia, 51 Bank St., NYC
Magnolia Bakery, 401 Bleecker St., NYC

