So I’ve been home for a week, using my own kitchen and grocery shopping and its just wonderful! Oh, and watching Food Network, of course..I don’t know how I survived a whole semester without it. Summer has officially arrived!

You know what else has officially begun?! Grill Season! That’s right, we broke out the grill last night. I’ll grill anything, from veggie burgers to romaine lettuce to watermelon to corn to…ok, you get the point. I’m going to learn how to grill meat this summer, for other people of course. I don’t eat meat but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t know how to cook it. I also plan to try that “beer-can-chicken” thing, where you shove a beer can up a chicken’s butt and place it precariously on the grill…which I’ve heard is good. Anyways, the boys made steak, chicken sausage, and Rachel Ray’s Chicken Cacciatore Burgers, accompanied by sauteed zucchini and mushrooms, a green salad, and garlic bread.

First on my to-grill list is Dave Leiberman’s Grilled Caesar Salad. Sounds crazy, I know – but it’s worth firing up the grill.


Grilled Caesar Salad
a Dave Leiberman recipe? It’s pretty tasty.

romaine lettuce
olive oil (preferably extra virgin)
caesar dressing (preferably from a bottle)
parmesan cheese
croutons, if you wish

Pour a bit of olive oil in a bowl, sprinkle in some salt & peppa. Brush olive oil onto the romaine stocks, and grill on each side for 1-2 minutes (on relatively low heat) or just until the outer leaves begin to wilt. Take them off the grill, chop into pieces, toss with dressing and freshly grated parmesan.

There’s a recipe for Grilled Watermelon Salad that I’m eager to try too, in June’s In Style magazine. It’s grilled watermelon slices, goat cheese, and watercress- sounds yummy!

Check out Epicurious’s Daily Dish for tips, recipes, cookbooks, etc. Or, check out the Food Network’s Grilling Headquarters. They’ll also have a ton of grilling specials and competitions showing on the network, probably all summer long. But who wants to watch TV when they could be grilling? 😉

Read: “Pimp My Grill” in the NY Times

