I keep seeing Whole Grain Chips Ahoy, Goldfish- now with whole grains!, and other processed snack foods that advertise being made with whole grains. Whole grains, which are now highly recommended (since the 2005 Dietary Guidelines focuses heavily on them), are now being put in everything. Personally, I think this whole grains phenomenon is a good thing considering that I always stick to eating whole wheat bread, oatmeal, brown rice, and other whole grains. Unfortunately, I think that people misinterpret the prevalence of whole grain products on the market to mean that they are all equally good for you. Those Chips Ahoy may be “whole grain,” but they are still cookies, and still processed- don’t be fooled. Just because it says “whole grain” doesn’t mean they’re nutritious-read the ingredients, and I bet the first one will be enriched wheat flour. You want to look for 100% Whole Wheat Flour when buying whole wheat products. (Don’t even talk to me about that Wonder Whole Grain White Bread…Wonder Bread, ew.) I just don’t think the USDA or the FDA have done a very good job in explaining whole grains to the American public, but we appear to be on the right track.

I don’t generally eat processed foods, so I can’t say that I’ve tried any of these products, but I’m curious as to how they really taste*. I mean, I love whole grains, but if I’m going to eat a cookie, it had better be full of butter, sugar, and white flour.

Read more here: “Whole Grain’ Labels Becoming a Little More Transparent

*post a comment if you’ve tried any of these products!

