When I got home from work, I was really hungry. And when I’m really hungry, I can’t make anything elaborate because it takes too damn long. After rummaging in my kitchen, I managed to put together this ridiculously easy and yummy Chicken Tomato Pesto Soup.

Chicken Tomato Pesto Soup (serves 1-2)
2-3 cups pre-made Creamy Tomato Soup (I like the Trader Joe’s kind, it comes in a box)
1/2 cup shredded chicken
2-3 tbsp. pesto (whatever you have will work, fresh or jarred)
1 cup chopped fresh baby spinach
parmesan cheese, to your liking
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the first 3 ingredients in a small saucepan until it simmers. Throw in some spinach just before you ladel it out. Grate parmesan cheese over the top. A grilled cheese would be the perfect accompaniment.

This method of throwing some fresh stuff into pre-made soup works really well, and you can make tons of variations of it. I made Southwestern Squash Soup by adding black bean salsa, frozen corn, chicken and crumbled tortilla chips to pre-made Butternut Squash soup. Cheap, fast, and so easy my boyfriend could make it. Just don’t call me Sandra Lee.

