My first experience with fondue and it was delicious! On Saturday night, we went to this tiny wine bar/fondue bar in the East Village called The Bourgeois Pig (E. 7th St. b/w 1st Ave. and Avenue A). The place has maybe 6 small tables, with comfortable chairs and a cozy atmosphere. The portions are generous and yummy, we had more than enough for the 6 of us. First, we ordered the Five Italian Cheeses fondue, which came with garlic bread, proscuitto, fries, and an assortment of fruit. The cheese was flecked with oregano, thyme, and rosemary–very tasty, especially good with apples. Then we ordered dark chocolate fondue with caramel, which came with slices of brownies, some sort of chocolate chip bread, strawberries, and other fruit. SO GOOD. Why had I never had fondue before? I was missing out! This would also be easy and fun to do at home.

Last night, inspired by the Food Network’s Good Deal with Dave Leiberman, we made an elegant dinner for 3: Braised Hoisin Beer Short Ribs, with Mashed Potatoes and Sesame Sugarsnap peas. I don’t even eat meat, and the short ribs smelled amazing while they were cooking for 3 hours–the recipe is super easy, you basically just let the ribs simmer in beer so it’s not labor-intensive. I had a tiny little bite, and I have to admit it was pretty tasty (as I’m sure those who actually ate them would tell you). I haven’t really ventured to cook meat before, but this one was so easy I may try to make it for my boyfriend sometime. The potatoes and peas were also yummy, those I did eat.

